Doncaster 78 Gateshead Thunder 6 - video

RUTHLESS scoring saw the Dons recover from a slow start to demolish bottom of the table Gateshead Thunder for their biggest win of the season.

The lowly visitors enjoyed plenty of possession and territory in the opening 15 minutes, giving the Dons a tough time and going as close as being held up on the line.

Dons' Kyle Kesik scores a try against Gateshead. Picture: Andrew Roe

Dons' Kyle Kesik scores a try against Gateshead. Picture: Andrew Roe

But it was the Dons who opened the scoring, with Jack Ely grabbing the club’s 100th try of the season, against the run of play on 13 minutes.

Gateshead continued to enjoy forays into the Doncaster half for the next few minutes but once the hosts found a foothold in the game, they never looked back.

Nathan Powley found a gap through the Gateshead defence to score under the posts on 22 minutes, with Hodson converting.

In the 18 minutes that followed up to the break, the Dons added 28 more points.

Mike Emmett, Lee Waterman and Mike Kelly all went over with Craig Fawcett scoring twice as the Dons swatted their opposition aside.

The domination continued after the break with Waterman adding a second after a slick passing move.

Gateshead could have got off the mark on 48 minutes but for an untimely fumble by Josh Neilson who had a clear run to the line ahead of him.

Mick Butterfield got his name on the scoresheet on 51 minutes before Waterman completed his hat trick, dribbling the ball following a Gateshead fumble and scoring under the posts.

Gateshead hit back on the hour mark with Brett Waller powering over and Chris Parker converting.

But it was to be their only score as the Dons cruised to by far their biggest win.

Waterman added a fourth with Ely, Alex Rowe and Stu Sanderson all finding their way over.

Hodson finished the game with 11 successful conversions.

Doncaster: Butterfield, Sanderson, Spurr, Waterman, Hodson, Kesik, Fawcett, Castle, Ely, O’Loughlin, Kelly, Robinson, Emmett.

Subs: Rowe, Spiers, Hughes, Powley.

Gateshead: Condron, Thackeray, Neilson, Brown, Ackerley, Parker, Beasley, Waller, Hodgson, McBride, Barron, Steen, Payne.

Subs: Stamp, Barker, O’Mara, Welton.