Cricket: Pontefract League ups and downs

Bentley Colliery are Division Four champions.
Bentley Colliery are Division Four champions.

Bentley Colliery beat Ryhill by four wickets to win the Division Four title.

Stuart Cutmore struck 77 as Colliery successfully chased down Ryhill’s total of 181-9 to secure the league championship.

Rossington Main, in their first season back in the Pontefract League, lost at Ackworth but the five bonus points they gained were enough to see them promoted in second place behind Bentley.

Heading in the opposite direction is Thorne, whose 57-run defeat to Streethouse B condemned them to relegation from Division Three.

Hatfield suffered a similar fate in Division Two and will play in the third tier next season.

In Division Five, Barnby Dun’s second eleven endured a miserable campaign. Just one win out of 22 ensured they finished bottom of the pile with just 38 points.

Playing in Division Five next season will be Fenwick, who were promoted as runners up along with Divison Six champions Wombwell Main.

Bentley’s second team completed a memorable season at the Avenue by gaining promotion from Division Eight, finishing 15 points clear of third placed Nostell.