Result: Doncaster Rovers 0 Walsall 2

editorial image

Doncaster Rovers suffered their first league defeat in eight games against a confident and competent Walsall outfit.

Dean Furman replaced Coppinger in midfield, while Jamie McCombe was recalled alongside Andy Butler to make his first start in almost three months.

Jordan Cook stunned the Keepmoat Stadium with his third minute opener.

Uche Izpeazu hit the post as Rovers piled on the pressure after the restart but on-loan Manchester City striker Jordy Hiwula’s debut goal ended any hopes of a comeback.

Walsall remain unbeaten on the road in League One since October 21.

Rovers, without the injured James Coppinger and Luke McCullough, were caught napping by Cook’s early goal.

The winger cleverly nipped in at the near post to flick home Anthony Forde’s third minute corner.

In an open start to the game Ikpeazu headed Harry Forrester’s cross just wide, before former Walsall defender Andy Butler saw his header saved by Richard O’Donnell.

From the resultant corner the returning Dean Furman’s looping header was cleared off the line by Ben Purkiss.

Walsall looked confident in possession and came close to doubling their lead when Forde’s deflected shot was tipped onto the bar and over by Stephen Bywater.

Dickov made a double change at the break, introducing Kyle Bennett for Nathan Tyson and Furman and Curtis Main.

It almost paid dividends straight away as Doncaster burst out of the blocks, Ikpeazu was denied twice by the legs of O’Donnell before striking a low left foot effort off the post.

Forrester forced another sharp save from O’Donnell with a snap shot and Tyson then came close to connecting with the winger’s inviting cross.

Walsall weathered the storm and came close themselves when Forde flashed a shot just wide from 20 yards.

But the away team did not have long to wait for a second when, following a mistake from Reece Wabara, Cook picked out an unmarked Hiwula who headed in via the inside of the post to seal the points.

Rovers: Bywater, Wabara, Butler, McCombe, Stevens, Keegan, Wellens, Furman, Forrester, Main, Ikpeazu. Subs: Marosi, Evina, Robinson, Tyson, Bennett, Middleton, Lund.

Walsall: O’Donnell, O’Connor, Purkiss, Taylor, Downing, Chambers, Cain, Cook, Grimes, Forde, Sawyers.

Subs: Baxendale, MacGillivray, Preston, Flanagan, Henry, Murphy, Hiwula.