Billy Bremner voted greatest Doncaster Rovers manager of the 80s and 90s

Billy Bremner has been named Doncaster Rovers' greatest manager of the 1980s and 1990s.
Billy Bremner has been named Doncaster Rovers' greatest manager of the 1980s and 1990s.

Doncaster Rovers legend Billy Bremner has been voted the club's greatest manager of the 1980s and 1990s.

The former Leeds United and Scotland star, who enjoyed two spells at Belle Vue, was named your number one in an online poll to find the club's greatest ever managers.

Bremner, who was in the Belle Vue hot seat from 1978-1985 and from 1989-91, enjoyed two promotion campaigns and the memorable FA Cup win over QPR in his first run before leaving to manage at Elland Road.

He was a clear winner in the poll, finished well ahead of Sammy Chung, who clinched second spot.

The former Wolves boss arrived on the first day of the 1996-7 season to find out he had been replaced by Kerry Dixon. In two years at Doncaster, between 1994 and 1996 he built a squad which challenged but failed to win promotion.

A controversial third place went to Mark Weaver. The sidekick of notorious club 'benefactor' Ken Richardson, Weaver was in charge for much of Rovers' disastrous relegation from the Football League in 1998.

Bremner joins Sean O'Driscoll in the Rovers' hall of fame after the former was named the club's best boss of the 2000s.

At the helm from 2006-2011, O'Driscoll guided Rovers to the Johnstone Paints Trophy at Cardiff and the League One play off final win over Leeds United at Wembley and established them as a Championship club before his dismissal.

The hunt is now on to find Rovers' greatest manager of the 1960s and 1970s and you can cast your vote on the likes of Lawrie McMenemy, Stan Anderson, Maurice Setters and George Raynor HERE.
We will then draw up a final shortlist allowing you to choose the club's greatest boss of all-time.


1. Billy Bremner

2. Sammy Chung

3. Mark Weaver

4. Steve Beaglehole

5= Dave Cowling

5= Dave Mackay

7= Danny Bergara

7= Ian Atkins

7= Tony Cunningham

7= Joe Kinnear

7 = Dave Cusack

12. Kerry Dixon