Ten candidates up for mayoral vote

Doncaster Local Election count 2012.
Doncaster Local Election count 2012.

TEN candidates will battle it out in the bid to become Doncaster’s next elected mayor.

The final list of hopefuls has been unveiled this week with all the major political parties fielding candidates against incumbent mayor Peter Davies, who will stand as an independent after resigning from the English Democrats earlier this year.

The polling slip will be a mammoth one with parties such as the National Front, English Democrats and independents also entering the fray at the ballot box on May 2.

The election, the fourth in Doncaster’s history, comes after a referendum last year which voted in favour of keeping the elected mayoral system.

Mr Davies, who has held the post of mayor since 2009, will go head to head with Askern Spa ward councillor Ros Jones who has received the Labour Party nomination.

John Brown, who sought election as an MP for Barnsley East in 2010, will be standing for the Liberal Democrats while Martin Drake will be representing the Conservatives.

The English Democrats have been forced to find a new candidate to fight the contest after Mr Davies announced in February that he was quitting the party, claiming it was being infiltrated by far-right groups such as the British National Party and English Defence League. Standing for them will be David Allen, who recently contested the South Yorkshire Police Commissioner vote.

The Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts candidate is Mary Jackson, who launched her campaign at a rally attended by general secretary of the RMT union Bob Crow.

Save Doncaster Libraries campaigner Doug Wright, standing under the banner Save Your Services, will also stand along with indepedents Tony Ward and market trader Michael Maye, who has unsuccessfully stood for mayor on three previous occasions, will also stand.

National Front candidate Dave Owen, who also stood in 2009, completes the list.