Rock legends Asia return with new album and 30th anniversary tour

ASIA, featuring the original line-up of Geoff Downes (keyboards), Steve Howe (guitar), Carl Palmer (drums) and John Wetton (lead vocals and bass) celebrate their 30th anniversary (1982-2012) by releasing their new album XXX on Monday July 2.

Featuring artwork by Roger Dean, XXX dovetails ASIA’s 30th Anniversary World Tour and the collectors box set edition of their eponymous debut album.

Their current single Face On The Bridge, now in its sixth straight week on the A-list at Planet Rock; the UK’s premiere classic rock radio station, is also proving hugely popular on YouTube. Planet Rock will air an ASIA 30th Anniversary one hour radio special at 7pm GMT on Saturday June 30th. All four members of ASIA were recently interviewed by Darren Redick specifically for this hour-long extravaganza.

In 1982 their debut album topped The Billboard Top 100 Chart for nine weeks, and went on to become the biggest selling album of the year. The album spawned the hits Heat Of The Moment, Only Time Will Tell, and four other radio hits. The new album, XXX, produced by Mike Paxman, has been hailed ASIA’s best album since their classic early 80s releases. XXX is released by Frontiers Records on Monday July 2 on CD, special edition CD/DVD (featuring music videos, behind the scenes footage), and limited edition vinyl.

“We wanted to recapture the energy of the first album,” says ASIA’s guitarist, Steve Howe. “ASIA has always been about great songs, fantastic musicianship. Fans of the first album will fall in love with XXX.”

Visit ASIA’s official website:

Tickets for the UK leg of ASIA’s 30th anniversary Tour can be ordered from the 24 HR Ticket Hotline: 0844 478 0898, eventim

ASIA 30th Anniversary UK Tour Dates:

Tavistock The Wharf Saturday 15 December

Holmfirth Picturedrome Sunday 16 December

Edinburgh Queen’s Hall Monday 17 December

Salisbury City Hall Wednesday 19 December

Birmingham Town Hall Thursday 20 December

Manchester Royal Northern College of Music Friday 21 December

London o2 Shepherds Bush Empire Saturday 22 December