Labour leader Ed Miliband wins selfie of the year award

editorial image
  • Ed Miliband has won selfie of the year award for picture with Joey Essex
  • Michael Crick has dubbed the Doncaster MP the ‘Liza Minnelli’ of the selfie, due to his positioning in the picture
  • The Labour leader beat competition from Prime Minister, David Cameron, and Nick Clegg to win the award

Doncaster North MP and Labour leader, Ed Miliband, has won the UK’s ‘Selfie of the Year’ gong at the 2015 Political Twitter Awards.

In the winning selfie Mr Miliband is pictured with Joey Essex and actress Emma Thompson.

Mr Miliband who has over 380,000 followers on the social networking site, fought off tough competition from the David Cameron, Nick Clegg, and several other MPs for the award.

He was pictured with a number of MPs and Celebrities, including Joey Essex (who took the snap) and Emma Thompson.

You can see a full list of categories and winners from this years awards here

The judges, which included Channel 4’s Michael Crick, praised the Doncaster North MP ‘being the Liza Minnelli of this selfie’ - referencing the Oscar’s selfie, with Ed Miliband sidelined in the same way as the star.

The Political Twitter Awards 2015, set up by UK lobbying firm Westminster Public Affairs ( celebrates the great and the good and the gaffes and guffaws of the UK’s MPs on social media site Twitter.

Other MPs to win gongs at this year’s awards included the SNP’s Pete Wishart MP, winning the public vote for ‘Parliamentary Tweeter of the Year’ and Respect MP George Galloway who won the ‘Most Prolific Backbench Tweeter’ award.

Labour MP Stella Creasy was awarded ‘Best Constituency Tweeter, and Isle MP Andrew Percy MP won ‘Funniest Tweet’.

Olly Kendall (@OllyKendall), Managing Director of Westminster Public Affairs who organised this year’s awards and one of this year’s judges, said: “Selfies are as much a part of Twitter as hashtags and Retweeted cat pics.

Ed’s ngoing bromance with Joey Essex makes an evocative image well worthy of this gong.

Combined with the Labour Leader’s apparent sidelining in the shot, he was the stand-out winner.”

The full list of winners at this years awards:

• Selfie of the Year - Ed Miliband (@Ed_Miliband)

• The ‘Ed Balls’ Twitter Gaffe of the Year - Emily Thornberry (@emilythornberry)

• Best Parody Account - General Boles (@GeneralBoles)

• Funniest Tweet - Andrew Percy (@andrewpercy)

• Most Prolific Backbench Tweeter - George Galloway (@georgegalloway - calculated by formula outlined below)

• Apology of the Year - Michael Fabricant (@Mike_Fabricant)

• Most Influential Tweet - Baroness Warsi (@sayeedawarsi)

• Best Constituency Tweeter - Dr Stella Creasy (@StellaCreasy)

• Parliamentary Tweeter of the Year - Pete Wishart (@PeteWishart - decided by a public vote)

• Hack of the Pack - Paul Waugh (@PaulWaugh)