Voters will head to the polls today to vote for South Yorkshire’s first PCC

South Yorkshire Police logo
South Yorkshire Police logo

VOTING is now under way at polling booths across South Yorkshire to select the first ever police and crime commissioner.

Five candidates are competing for the position - a job that allows them to set the police budget, determine priorities and to hire and fire chief constables.

The winner will take over the duties of the police authority - a group of elected councillors and independent members of the public - in monitoring the performance of the South Yorkshire Force.

The five South Yorkshire candidates were chosen by political parties but say they would adopt an independent stance in tackling the job.

The candidates for South Yorkshire are: Shaun Wright (Labour), Robert Teal (Liberal Democrat), Nigel Bonson (Conservative), Jonathan Arnott (UKIP) and Dave Allen (English Democrat).

Polling stations across Doncaster opened at 7am and close at 10pm.

See for election results.

For further information about the PCC Elections, residents can visit elections or contact Doncaster Council’s Elections Team on 0800 180 4604 or email