Blur star Damon Albarn to release new solo album - video link

Damon Albarn
Damon Albarn

Dr Dee, a new studio album by Damon Albarn, will be released by Parlophone Records on May 7, 2012.

Dr Dee is 18 tracks of songs and music inspired by the life of John Dee, mathematician, polymath and advisor to Elizabeth I. Described by Albarn as ‘Strange pastoral folk’, Dr Dee is a fitting companion to the end of another Elizabethan age. The album combines Albarn’s voice with early English choral and instrumentation alongside modern, West African and Renaissance sounds.

Dr Dee was recorded late last year in Albarn’s West London studio and also in Salford with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra. The album was mixed by Valgeir Sigursson in Reykjavik.

Click the media link on the right to view

Dr Dee will be available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download.

The full album tracklisting is:

1) The Golden Dawn

2) Apple Carts

3) Oh Spirit Animate Us

4) The Moon Exalted

5) A Man of England

6) Saturn

7) Coronation

8) The Marvelous Dream

9) A Prayer

10) Edward Kelley

11) Preparation

12) 9 Point Star

13) Temptation Comes In The Afternoon

14) Watching the Fire That Waltzed Away

15) Moon (Interlude)

16) Cathedrals

17) Tree Of Life

18) The Dancing King

View trailer here:

Damon Albarn will perform songs from the album Dr Dee at OneFest on April 14 2012 alongside singers and musicians featured on the album, including Madou Diabate. One Fest UK