Kaiser Chiefs set to release new album

Kaiser Chiefs return with a gig at Kirkstall Abbey, Leeds in September.
Kaiser Chiefs return with a gig at Kirkstall Abbey, Leeds in September.

Following the musical and technological breakthrough and overwhelmingly successful launch of ‘The Future Is Medieval’ - the innovative fourth album from three times BRIT winners Kaiser Chiefs via their own website (whereby fans chose their own tracklisting) – the band have agreed to release a CD/digital version on June 27 2011 featuring theirs and the fans’ favourite songs.

The idea behind the initial release - whereby fans are able to compile their own album, create artwork and sell on, directly profiting via social networking sites - was to encourage and embrace fan participation, place a value on music in an era where it’s in danger of becoming disposable, and limit the dull build-up that tends to surround most releases from returning artists these days. There is no question that this plan has succeeded on every level - to quote one newspaper; “They’re a band reborn”.

The tracklisting for the CD and standard digital version of ‘The Future Is Medieval’ is a combination of the Kaiser Chiefs’ favourite tracks and the songs which immediately stood out as fans’ top choices in the first few days of the pioneering launch. The CD version comes with a brand new exclusive track - “Kinda Girl You Are” - which wasn’t even finished when the album became available (they were recording & mixing right up until the week of release and this track was the last through the gatepost), but has already received a fantastic response at recent live shows.

Recorded over a period of nearly eighteen months at various locations - including drummer Nick Hodgson’s self-built studio in East London - with the likes of Tony Visconti (David Bowie, T-Rex), Ethan Johns (Kings of Leon, Ryan Adams), Owen Morris (Oasis, The Verve) and Hodgson himself taking the production helm, ‘The Future Is Medieval’ evolves from a diverse background of influence and situations.

‘The Future Is Medieval’ is released on 27th June on CD and download through Fiction Records / B-Unique, the full tracklisting is:

1. Little Shocks

2. Things Change

3. Long Way From Celebrating

4. Starts With Nothing

5. Out Of Focus

6. Dead Or In Serious Trouble

7. When All Is Quiet

8. Kinda Girl You Are

9. Man On Mars

10. Child Of The Jago

11.Heard It Break

12. Coming Up For Air

13. If You Will Have Me

Kaiser Chiefs will be appearing at various festivals over the summer months before their huge hometown stadium shows at Leeds’ Kirkstall Abbey in September. Full confirmed UK dates are;

16 June London, Electric Ballroom (SOLD OUT)

24 June London, Hyde Park (w/ The Killers)

26 June Glastonbury Festival (SOLD OUT)

20 August V Festival, Chelmsford (SOLD OUT)

21 August V Festival, Stafford (SOLD OUT)

10 September Leeds, Kirkstall Abbey (SOLD OUT)

11 September Leeds, Kirkstall Abbey (second show just added -

tickets via www.ticketmaster.com / www.gigsandtours.com / 24 hr cc lines - 0844 811 0051 / 0844 826 2826)